Julian Sanchez header image 2

photos by Lara Shipley

Earworm: “Waiting for the Man” — Velvet Underground

May 7th, 2010 · 6 Comments

In the instance, waiting for Amazon’s courier service to drop off the 69 Love Songs vinyl box set, which has finally been released after seemingly endless delays. Safe bet tomorrow’s earworm will feature the stylings of Mr. Stephin Merritt.

Tags: Art & Culture



6 responses so far ↓

  • 1 Mark // May 7, 2010 at 2:46 pm

    Great album. Hope you enjoy it.

    Fun fact: Daniel Handler (a.k.a. author Lemony Snicket) plays accordion on some tracks.

  • 2 Julian Sanchez // May 7, 2010 at 2:58 pm

    Oh, I know, it’s easily in my top 5. But it’s apparently been remastered for vinyl—possibly that accounts for the delay—so very curious to compare.

  • 3 sneezy // May 8, 2010 at 11:36 am

    My understanding is that an “earworm” is a song that sticks in your head even, or maybe especially, if you can’t stand it.

  • 4 Julian Sanchez // May 8, 2010 at 5:32 pm

    Well, I get those too, but I’m not perverse enough to ask readers to listen to songs I can’t stand.

  • 5 sneezy // May 8, 2010 at 8:27 pm

    I wouldn’t expect you to offer up songs you don’t like, I just wonder why you label them with a term that I’ve never before heard used with a positive connotation.

  • 6 Mark // May 10, 2010 at 9:47 am

    Prediction: Vinyl will still be around when the last CD has entered the landfill.

    If you’re looking for cheap, accessible, high-quality music, digital is the way to go. If you want the full album experience (liner notes, cover art, etc.) vinyl wins. CDs don’t do anything best, so their days are numbered.